Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Change is the only thing that is certain in life, long time back I heard or read it I don’t remember. But, I do remember that I didn’t believe it then, for my life was a constant. Like a line with an HB pencil: straight, plain and without shades. Just a simple boring line.

I was getting up at 10:30 in the morning, working in office from 11:30 to 8, having lunch at 1:15, coffee at 4, popcorn at 6 and dinner back home at 8:30 while watching tv, talking long distance to Isha (my girl friend then, now fiancée) while walking in the balcony, convincing her that we would be together and getting tensed myself that how would we be, coming back to my messy room and studying for my examination till 4 in the morning, having cold drink and namkeen in between and finally, crashing to get up again at 10:30.

No change. No variable. Only constant.

And a few months earlier, I heard my mom saying something about Lady Luck which means a woman brings luck and changes your life but I didn’t believe that as well. Indian moms generally say this to get their 28 years old sons to get them married ;-)

Then one fine day I got engaged to Isha.

The very next morning, an email was waiting for me in my official mailbox to inform me that my very long-awaited US Visa has been processed successfully. My manager gave me an exciting news that I am hand-picked by the US manager to work with them in US for a few months. After a few weeks I flew to meet Isha and we had the best of the times. First time we met in zero-tension air with no discussion on our future, for we both knew it will be wonderful now. There was just happiness. Some weeks later, I got a mail from my US manager appreciating my work and in the same week I got a more-than-expected raise in my salary.

I bought a car and was enjoying driving. Every weekend I was out for shopping, both for my US trip and marriage. The same time which was running so slow had started flying. Isha came down to Bangalore over a weekend and we shopped for 25K in just two days and that only for me. And in my last week in India, I flew to Chennai for a night for Visa stamping, then flew to my home for two days for wedding dress shopping, and then flew back in a morning to catch the US flight the very same night. And, did all my packing in the middle of all this. The halted life earlier was on a rollercoaster then, and I was living the every bit of it.

Oh yes, now I believe Lady Luck is true and changes life without knocking - positively for me :-)

