Review – Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

While watching the trailers of Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara (ZNMD), somewhere I had this dormant feeling that it won’t turn out as good as it looks in the promos. I told this to my brother and cousin and they frowned, you know. But after watching it today with my cousin, I am disappointed to write that I am disappointed. Though, I may still be wrong. It might turn out as awesome as it could get.

ZNMD is Directed by Zoya Akhtar, the successful director of Luck By Chance, daughter of the legends Javed Akhtar and Shabana Azmi, and sister of talented Farhan Akhtar. It stars Hrithik Roshan, Abhay Deol, Farhan Akhtar, Katrina Kaif and Kalki Koechlin. The music is by Shankar Ehsaan Loy and it is shot at the various splendid locations in Spain. It can’t get bigger than it, right? By the trailers anyone could guess that the story revolves around three friends, which automatically raises the expectation further by connecting it to Dil Chahta Hai (DCH), her brother’s directorial debut. So, the frowning was justified, isn’t?

After getting engaged to Natasha (Kalki Koechlin), Kabir (Abhay Deol) wants to go on an extended bachelor party to Spain, a three-week road trip with Imraan (Farhan Ahktar) and Arjun (Hrithik Roshan), his two best friends. In this fantasy holiday they have a pact that one chooses any sport of his choice and the other two just have to do it with him. The purpose is to kill or at least face your fear. In a chance encounter they meet the gorgeous Laila (Katrina Kaif), who gradually falls in love with our hunkiest dude Arjun. Imraan – a hilarious flirt and a serious secret poet – is looking for some answers from his biological father, who lives in Spain. Imraan has never met him before. Kabir starts feeling dizzy about his marriage with Natasha, after suspicious Natasha surprises everyone by flying to Spain for a day to check Kabir. In between all this, the three have their ultimate sports as promised, overcome their fear and experience the magical moments. Towards the end, they also find answers to the problems they were dealing with.

This movie might get a mix response from both general audience and critics, and who knows it might become a huge hit. But personally it didn’t impress me. Though it’s a light-hearted watchable movie, I tag it as somewhere-interesting-somewhere-boring types. The movie is dull for the first 20 minutes, paces up when the road trip begins but has its highs and lows throughout, just as a road have. And, I don’t see anything in the movie worth watching again. In fact my movie-buff cousin, who loves to watch movies again and again, finds this just a one time watch.

I don’t know what could have made the movie better. I am no expert. May be a better direction or screen play could, but it undoubtedly could have been better. The movie is about three musketeers together on a road trip, and I expected a stong emotional bonding between them – strong enough to capture my senses. You know what I mean – when you fall in love with the characters and feel their emotions. You remember the emotions of friendship, anger, love shown in DCH. I didn’t feel any such thing in this movie. I wasn’t able to bring any character or scene or dialogue or song with me back home. Needless to say, the music is second rated, except Senorita.

But I won’t say it is not worth to watch this flick. You should watch it and it will make you fall in love with the scenic Spain – these guys went for a bachelor party trip, I might go for my honeymoon. The way the sports are shot will give you a feeling that you should try them too before dying. I will surely try underwater diving soon. I also want to experience the very famous Holi of Spain – La Tomatina festival – squashing and massaging tomatoes on my Laila and my friends. And the poetry that plays in the background in some scenes is outstanding – written by Javed Akhtar.

I also do have my take away from the movie: Live every day of your life as a holiday (don’t take it in a literally sense) and Face your Fears – you might also feel The Magic.

And by the way, I am saying it’s a one time watch, but I can watch it again – just for ravishing Katrina!

8 thoughts on “Review – Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara

  1. guess for the first time i wud say.. i dont agree.. i loved the movie.. and the concept.. i cud relate it to my life so much.. as fun is missing from my life and even if a few exaggerations r involved the movie kept hold of my attention.. i loved hrithik.. abhay n farhan.. hrithik anyhow is my beat skipper.. :) anyways… if talking abt the writing.. i still like it.. but dont agree with the content.. :P

    1. Thanks again for your honest comment. I do agree with you but you must agree that something is missing in the movie. In fact, i tried watching this movie again on my laptop but I just wasn’t.

I'll love to know what you think about this post. Leave your thoughts below.

