Why we stick more to public commitments?

I failed every time when I planned to change my routine to get up early and to start eating low carbs. And I tried several times. Then I shared my plan with my family and friends. It’s been two months now. I am regularly getting up early and consistently eating low carbs. I didn’t fail this time. Why?

We are social animals. We do things that people would accept and avoid things that people would reject. We seek social approvals. We care what others think of us and our actions. We crave for appreciations and run away from embarrassments.

Also, we love consistency. Once we make commitment, we want to stay consistent. And the more our commitment is public, the more likely we would stay consistent.

Social animals stick to their public commitments to avoid embarrassments, you see.

So, try public commitment – make it, share it and get stick to it!

I'll love to know what you think about this post. Leave your thoughts below.

