A trigger is required to form a new habit

habits

I want to get rid of my double chin. Yeah, sadly I have it. And I read somewhere that chewing gum for an hour everyday helps reduce that bad ugly fat hanging down the chin hiding the neck (okay, that’s exaggerated…)

So I bought a big pack of sugar free gum and started chewing. In excitement to get a chiseled jawline asap, I chewed continuously for several hours to an extent that after 3 days I found my jaw hurting and I had to stop it completely. After around 2 weeks I realized I forgot to had even a single gum. I resumed but again fell short after a few.

Then I decided that as soon as I would get in the car I would unpack one in my mouth and spit it as soon as I would leave the car (of course in the bin). I drive almost an hour everyday and the problem was solved by itself.

Now I am chewing gum everyday for an hour for last one month without even thinking about it and without getting my jaw hurt. Getting in my car was a “trigger” that worked for me to eventually form this “new habit”.

And about my double chin, that’s a separate thing.

I'll love to know what you think about this post. Leave your thoughts below.

